Fall into the season with this fantastic cake recipe!

For my boyfriend’s birthday this year, I decided to make him a taste of home by going all out with the flavors of fall. We’re out in Los Angeles now and it’s 100 degrees in October so his mid-western side starts craving some toasty pecans, pumpkins and warm goodies.

I found a recipe for an Everything Fall Cupcake on the Cupcake Project website here. Her particular version is a bit more complicated than mine because it involves baking a mini cupcake into a bigger one. Love the idea, but for a birthday I wanted an actual cake!

I pretty much followed the recipes to a tee with a few exceptions. Just to make things easier, I’ll post all the links to the specific recipes as well. It got a little confusing for me jumping back and forth between them all.

I started off by making the pumpkin maple rum batter and pouring it into a greased 8″ round. The recipe she gives is for 12 cupcakes so it was perfect for one 8″ round.

Maple, pumpkin and of course, dark rum!

Perfect amount of batter for an 8″ round.

While that was in the oven, I got to work on the apple cobbler cake. The recipe called for lemon extract, but I couldn’t find any so I used vanilla instead. Turned out just fine IMHO, but make sure NOT to use lemon juice. The acid in the juice will mess with the chemistry of the cake and this recipe involves baking soda. Ever put lemon juice and baking soda together? Volcano! Also, if I did it again I would probably chop up the apples into larger chunks. I did them too small and after they baked down no one could really tell they were in there.

Apple cobbler cake in the oven!

Next was the brown sugar frosting. I’m pretty new to making my own frosting and this one had me a bit worried what with the boiling sugar and such, but it was actually really easy. Just make sure to keep stirring this stuff. It’ll start to puff up and look a little crazy, but don’t worry. Just keep stirring… Just keep stirring…

Boiling sugar. It works! With a little butter, of course.

The cinnamon cream cheese frosting was the last thing to make and oh my goodness was it good! The recipe says to add cinnamon to taste, but stick with the amount she gives (1 1/2 tsp. I believe). It was absolutely perfect and I may or may not have eaten a spoonful of it as I was waiting for the cakes to cool.

Pumpkin maple rum cake out of the oven.

Mmmm…apple cobbler.

While the cakes were cooling, I sprayed some cooking oil on a baking sheet and place a single layer of pecan halves on it. Popped them in the oven at 350 and in about 5 minutes I was smelling the delicious goodness of toasted pecans.

When both cakes were ready to go, I put the pumpkin layer on my cake plate and filled it with the brown sugar frosting. In a happy accident, part of the pumpkin cake stuck to the bottom of the baking pan as I was removing it and I was able to use the brown sugar frosting to fill in what was missing. It worked out great!

Brown sugar frosting and toasted pecans.

I stacked the apple cobbler cake on top and iced the whole thing with cinnamon cream cheese frosting. To add a tiny bit of detail, I grabbed a spoon and made a swirl design starting from the outside of the cake. You can’t see it super well, but I thought it made for a cleaner look. I piled some toasted pecans in the center and called it a cake!

I’d suggest storing this one in the fridge because of the cream cheese. It also caused the brown sugar to firm up a little turning it into another pseudo-layer, which was kind of neat.

All in all, everyone really seemed to enjoy this cake. It was dense, sweet and absolutely everything fall.

